Thursday, September 10, 2009

Estancia (J 9)

Name: Estancia

The story: Gert Sibande Background
Brief profile of Gert Sibande District Municipality

Mpumalanga province has three district municipalities, one of which is Gert Sibande District Municipality. Gauteng, Free State and KwaZulu-Natal provinces encircle it, and it is on the border of Swaziland. The district is home to 900 thousand people, two thirds of which are urban dwellers, living in over 120 towns and villages. 51, 84% of the population here are women.

Govan Mbeki municipal area, one of the local municipalities of the district is the economic and industrial hub of the region. The district has industries for petrochemical and related industries at Secunda and the occurrence of coal, iron ore, gold and granite in the region. The district is also strong in food, wool and timber production but still needs development of agricultural activities. Tourism is a growing sector, with bird watching opportunities at Wakkerstroom, and game viewing being particularly popular. Some 51% of the population over 20 years old had no schooling or only up to the level of primary education. 16,40% obtained grade 12, while 5,4% undertook higher education.

Gert Sibande District Municipality comprises seven local municipalities namely:

Albert Luthuli: Carolina, Badplaas, Eerstehoek, Lochiel
Msukaligwa: Ermelo, Bankkop, Breyten, Camden, Chrissiesmeer, Davel, Estancia, Holban, Kafferspruit, Lothair, Sheepmoor, Warburton
Mkhondo: Piet Retief (Mkhondo), Amsterdam, Anysspruit, Berbice, Bergen, Braunchweig, Commondale, Dirkiesdorp, Iswepe, Moolman, Panbult, Wittenberg
Lekwa: Standerton, Bettiesdam, Elmtree, Holmdene, Maizefield, Meyerville, Morgenzon, Platrand, Roberts Drift, Stanfield Hill
Pixley ka Seme: Volksrus (Seme), Amersfoort, Latemanek, Perdekop, Wakkerstroom
Govan Mbeki: Secunda, Bethal, Bethel East, Bethelrand, Charl Cilliers, Evander, Kinross, Leandra, Leslie, Roodebank, Springbokdraai, Trichardt, Winkelhaak
Dipaleseng: Balfour, Dasville, Greylingstad, Grootvlei, Val, Willemsdal.

Five of these municipalities; namely,
Albert Luthuli, Msukaligwa, Govan Mbeki, Pixley ka Seme and Mkhondo local municipalities have been identified as requiring assistance under Project Consolidate.

Gert Sibande

Google count:

Historic fact:

Other interesting info:

Where to stay:

No comments: